Home > Uncategorized > More Things I’ve Been Doing Instead of Blogging

More Things I’ve Been Doing Instead of Blogging

Well, once again I have let over a week go by since my last blog.  Here are some of the things that have been keeping me away from my blog.

  1. My Garden: I have a very small garden, but nevertheless it requires more upkeep than you might think–watering, weeding (okay, I don’t really spend much time weeding because, I mean, it’s a losing proposition, isn’t it?) and picking vegetables everyday.   The picture on the left shows a sampling of the produce I retrieved from my garden this morning. Actually, the zucchini have been around awhile. But I’m not sure what to do with them. And that’s part of the problem–I have to think up stuff to do with all these vegetables. And everyday there’s more!

 2.  I’ve been trying to break the speed limit:  One of the perks of riding your bike to work is that sometimes the police put out these signs that tell you how fast you’re going. In your car, kind of annoying, right? On your bike, it creates a challenge, especially since I ride on a road with a 25 mph speed limit.  The police were kind enough to place this one on a hill–a downhill for me in the morning.  Did I break the speed limit? Yes!! I hit 27. Of course I have had those cyclometers that tell you how fast you’re going, but for some reason I find this more entertaining. The downside is that I arrived at work a bit sweatier than usual. But I was wide awake. I hardly needed that cup of coffee.

 

3. I went to the zoo: It’s been years since I’ve been to the zoo,  so I had forgotten how much fun it was. And how educational. This photo is of a bearded pig. Who even knew there was such a thing?  My son took this picture. He had a great time photographing all the animals. But the camera ran out of batteries so we had to buy new ones. One pack of four double As at the zoo gift shop cost $8.63.  Even if I haven’t been blogging about finance, I know that was not the most financially prudent thing I’ve ever done. But look! I have this terrific photograph of a bearded pig! I have no regrets.

4. And speaking of finance: I also bought Suze Orman’s book, Women and Money. I bought it at the used bookstore where my daughter works and where I have credit. Total cost: less than a dollar. So, I think, no matter what, that was a good financial decision on my part. I didn’t waste money, I didn’t make Suze any richer and maybe it will all be worthwhile. Again, I have no regrets.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 10, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    I’m impressed by the speed limit attempt, Laura. The only thing likely to muster that much enthusiasm in me is a call to the dinner table! Great post. Keep up the good work.

    • August 10, 2010 at 5:07 pm

      Thanks Joe! Believe me, if you are on your bike and you see one of those signs, you won’t be able to resist!

  2. August 16, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Yes, Congrats Laura… Every time I drive by that speed thing, I think of the office episode where Michael tries to break the speed limit running by it, now I’ll think of you actually doing it!

    • August 16, 2010 at 5:47 pm

      I never saw that episode, but it’s good to know I’m not the only one trying!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

