Home > Uncategorized > I’ve decided to follow the Save Yourself Plan..but first, a few more things I’ve been doing instead of blogging

I’ve decided to follow the Save Yourself Plan..but first, a few more things I’ve been doing instead of blogging

I still don’t feel I’ve been blogging as often as I would like to. But I have been doing some other great stuff. I’ll share a few of those things.

I took this picture of a terrific rainbow in my backyard, right after a rainstorm. Because my yard is so open, it’s a good place for viewing rainbows.  It’s hard to tell in the picture, but this one was particularly clear, and was actually a double rainbow.

I also made some delicious dinners from all those vegetables I’ve been growing in my garden. My daugher is the better chef, though. She made these stuffed peppers after watching Giada at Home.  They’re stuffed with ricotta cheese, onions and panchetta. They tasted amazing–a really good way to use up a dozen peppers. We’ve also made sauce and salsa and lots of tomato salads.

 And, yesterday I went on a beautiful, long bike ride on back roads that are incredibly scenic. Over the course of an hour or so, I was passed by fewer than a handful of cars. The photo on the left shows one of the many stunning farms along my route. And now, back to finance….

Well, I read several more chapters of Women and Money, including one which I’ll call the blah, blah, blah chapter. That one focused on the 8 qualities of a wealthy woman: harmony, balance, courage, generosity, happiness, wisdom, cleanliness and beauty.  These are also the eight qualities of a saint. I plan to read that in more detail if I’m seeking canonization.  For now, though, a few things struck me as interesting. A chapter entitled “You Are Not On Sale,” cautions heavily against never asking for a raise and low-balling freelance work–two things I’m guilty of.  I know this is a flaw, I just never thought of it as a common one. And I do intend to be more conscious of such things in the future.

  Orman also highly disapproves of being messy with your finances. As in, stuffing dollar bills into your purse or pockets randomly. Or piling financial papers around and not opening bank statements. Very disorderly. Very me. Again, it made me think about how such habits may make me, ultimately, feel less in control of my finances.

But what I liked best about what I read was Save Yourself Plan–a five month plan that  promises to help me control my financial destiny “forever shedding a lifetime of money fear, shame and confusion.” In a mere five months. I’ve decided to follow this plan. In my next blog, I’ll let you know how I’m doing in Month One, when I take a hard look at my checking and savings accounts. Kinda scary, huh?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 26, 2010 at 8:51 pm

    Laura, those must have been good peppers because even Ian told us about them! I really love your blog posts!

    • August 27, 2010 at 12:44 am

      Thanks! They were awesome! But now our chef is back at college:(

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

