Home > Uncategorized > I Decide to Make a Few Rules for Myself

I Decide to Make a Few Rules for Myself

After having decided to do something different every week for 52 weeks I quickly realized that there are a lot of things I could do.  So I’m making a few guidelines. Here they are.

  1. I want variety. Some weeks I’ll do something artsy, other weeks something touristy, or outdoorsy. I’m hoping I can do something spiritual, adventurous, intellectual, and a few things that really taste good!  I want a mix of experiences.
  2. I need to plan a bit. I’m not a good planner. I never plan for much. But if I’m going to do this, I need to make a few plans in advance. Already, I’ve ordered concert tickets and tried to organize a dinner out with friends. That takes effort for me. I know I may even actually need to write things on a calendar–something I’ve managed to mostly avoid for an astonishingly long time.
  3. I will include many different people to accompany me. One of the items on my list is to go to Longwood Gardens Orchid Extravaganza. It’s not likely my husband and son will be enthusiastic about this. Therefore, for this and many other things, I’m going to pick up my phone, call up a friend or two, and see who wants to come along. Thus, doing something different will, I hope, also mean including a few people who I don’t normally hang out with on weekends (normally, the only people I do hang out with are family). In the end this will be fun. But again, it’s planning. Not my forte.
  4. I will do some things alone.  Sometimes, doing stuff alone is part of doing something different. I don’t want to be held back by having no one to keep me company.
  5. I’m mostly keeping this regional. I, of course, would love it if the something different I did each week involved a trip to, say, San Fransisco. But there’s plenty in this area to discover and explore. And that leads me to the next point.
  6. I need to keep this cost effective. When I first though of this, I quickly drafted a list of things to do that included shows, seminars and workshops, but I also noticed that quite a few of those items cost upwards of $100. If I did that every week, I’d be out $400 a month. If a family member does it too, it will cost even more. My goal is to spend $50 or less, whenever possible.
  7. Too often, I find myself dismissing things simply because they don’t seem like something I would do. My goal here is to quit doing that. Therefore, in addition to the things I write about here, I am going to try to do a lot of small things that are newish for me. For example, the other evening I went to the gym at an odd time–7:00 on Friday evening.  For a moment, as I was driving up to it, the gym looked completely empty. “If there’s no one else in there, I’m not going in!” I thought to myself.  Then I realized that being the only person working out at the gym would be doing something different. A small thing, but it would be different nevertheless. As it turned out, there were three people in there. But my plan is to change the way I think sometimes, so I never think: That’s bad because it’s different, but instead think, “That’s different, so I’m going to try it.”
Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

