Home > Uncategorized > Doing Something Meaningful

Doing Something Meaningful

I’ve made up my mind to change my blog a bit, so it won’t just be about doing something different every week, but will focus on my efforts to do something meaningful every week. I’m not always earth’s most organized creature,  nevertheless, I’ve learned that when it comes to blogging (and when it comes to many things, if you think about it), some degree of organization is necessary. Therefore, my first step will be to outline specific goals for the year. (I know most people probably do this sort of thing on January 1, but, whatever). Here’s my to-do list.

1.  Support a Cause. I often blow off requests for support. Or else I decide to think about it later, which I never do. I will choose a few causes and find ways to help out.

2. Volunteer. When my kids were in elementary school, I spent a lot of my time in volunteer activities. Now, not so much.  Nevertheless, requests for volunteers pop into my almost daily. This year, I’ll read through them and instead of automatically hitting delete, and select one or two get involved in.

3. Visit someplace meaningful. Traveling is a good way to add meaning to your life. I’m planning a trip to England in April, so before I go I’ll do some research to find one activity that is, in fact, particularly meaningful.

4.  Read up. I tend to read novels and steer clear of anything that smacks of self-help. This year, I plan to read a few books on adding meaning to my life.

5. Sign up for a benefit ride.  Every year I think about doing one of those bike rides where you have to raise money for a cause. But I’m the worst fundraiser imaginable. I wince at the idea of asking for money. Still, I’ve been dreaming about it forever, so I think it’s finally time to stop wincing.  I will sign up for a ride and figure it out from there.

6. Make contact. It’s easy to just let go of friendships once you stop seeing people regularly. I want to make a better effort to keep in touch with friends I no longer have the opportunity spend a lot of time with.

7.  Join something. Believe it or not, the reason I usually don’t join clubs or community organizations is because I hate attending meetings. Sound lame? Think about it–a lot of organizations are really about meetings. Nevertheless, there are plenty of organizations in the community that are doing really good things that I would like to be involved in.  I plan to get involved with one of them.

8. Donate items thoughtfully. I have a tendency to donate only when it’s convenient. I drop my old clothes off at the nearest drop box, and contribute to food pantries when I happen to think of it. I want to make more of an effort to donate food more regularly and, when I have clothes or furniture in good condition, to seek out a charity that needs them.

9. Engage in a meaningful activity. By which I mean, take a yoga class, because it seems like this is an exercise that is intended to improve your mind and your attitude, as well as your body.

10. Continue to blog occasionally about trying something new. I think trying new things does add meaning to my life, so I will integrate new activities into my blog whenever I can.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 1, 2012 at 10:38 am

    Gotta good cause for you to satisfy a few items on the list! The one I have in mind would address 1,2,3,4,6,9 &10!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

