Home > Uncategorized > Donate Old Board Games

Donate Old Board Games

In the realm of doing something meaningful, this won’t top anyone’s list. But I’m starting small. In my quest to do at least one meaningful thing each week, I decided to begin by simply paying attention to what organizations are asking for. So, when I received an email from the Gallery on High, in Pottstown, that stated “We Want Your Recyclables!” I opened it, read it, and, instead of hitting delete, I made a conscious effort to respond. Okay, I know some people do this all the time, but I don’t. So, you know, I’m kind of proud of myself. Because, to be honest, it did take some effort.

The email listed the items that were needed for recycled art projects. Most were commonplace recyclables like paper towel tubes, empty milk jugs and plastic laundry detergent  containers. But the gallery was also seeking old board games, and it specified that missing pieces were not a problem. So, on Saturday morning I opened the game cabinet in our family room. My eyes feasted upon a stack of beat-up board games in broken boxes. I began pulling them out and asking myself questions like: “Really, we still have Junior Scrabble?” and “Why, when my youngest child is 14, do I still own this Barney memory game?” Obviously, it never occured to me to donate my old game boards to any cause before. Since the email had specifically requested Scrabble games, I was happy to find a pack of Scrabble tiles (the board had been used for one of our own art projects).

Among the games I selected for donation were: Bingo, Junior Monopoly, Junior Scrabble, Lotto, Clue, and the Barney memory game that is at least 20 years old. They were all in pretty shabby condition. I slid them into a large shopping bag and brought them right over to the gallery. There, a former member of my Girl Scout troop (back when they were Brownies and the Barney game wasn’t so ancient), was behind the counter. “Don’t judge me on the condition of these games,” I pleaded. She promised not to.

And that was it. It was simple really, but I felt like I’d accomplished something. I’d cleaned out a cabinet and donated the unwanted contents to a gallery that actually wanted them. Not a bad way to spend a Saturday morning, right?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Anne
    February 11, 2012 at 6:28 pm

    Are you sure you aren’t my sister, Barbara, in disguise….

    • February 11, 2012 at 8:31 pm

      Keeping a Barney game around for 20 years is nothing to be ashamed of.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

